Afghan parliamentary elections scheduled for 15th October

The Independent Election Commission of Afghanistan (IEC) on Monday announced the schedule for the parliamentary and district councils elections.

The elections date scheduled for 15th October was announced by the Independent Election Commission (IEC) Chief Ahmad Yousuf Nuristani during a press conference in Kabul today.

Nuristani further added that the elections would be organized on time provided that the government takes necessary steps in arranging the budget, security for the candidates and electoral workers and ballot boxes.

The announcement of the elections schedule comes as the term of the Afghan lawmakers has already expired in June last year and President Ghani issued a decree during the same year to extend the parliament’s mandate.

Meanwhile, the controversies surrounding reforms in electoral system still exists with Chief Executive Officer Abdullah Abdullah saying that the elections would not be organized unless reforms are incorporated in the electoral system.

Speaking during the Cabinet of Ministers meeting on Monday, Abdullah said the elections would be organized under the supervision of the new Independent Election Commission, insisting that the foundation of stability, security, law, sovereignty and justice would not be possible in the absence of reforms in electoral system.

However, Nuristani said no one would be permitted to interfere in elections affairs, promising that the Independent Election Commission (IEC) would perform with complete independence and will use all necessary options to organize a fair election.

Khaama Press

Лекториум он-лайн

[youtube_channel resource=0 cache=0 random=true fetch=25 num=1 ratio=3 responsive=1 width=306 display=thumbnail norel=1 nobrand=1 showtitle=above desclen=0 noanno=1 noinfo=1 link_to=none goto_txt="Visit our YouTube channel"]

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>