U.S. mulls pressing Afghan government to suspend presidential elections

The Trump administration mulls pressing the Afghan government to suspend the presidential elections as Washington seeks to engage the Taliban in peace talks, it has been reported.

The issue of the suspension of April-2019 elections was raised by the U.S. Special Adviser for Afghanistan Reconciliation Ambassador Zalmay Khalilzad, sources privy of the development have told The Wall Street Journal.

However, the Office of Ambassador Khalilzad has declined ot comment in this regard.

More and more

IEC to announce Presidential election timeline within next week

Officials from the Independent Election Commission (IEC) on Tuesday said that works are underway to outline a timeline for the upcoming presidential election and that it would be announced within next week.

The upcoming presidential election is scheduled to take place on April 20, next year. The IEC said that it will finalize a timeline for the upcoming polls next week.

“Next week, we will share the timeline of the presidential elections with people, the international community, electoral complaints commission, and election observes,” said Hafizullah Hashimi, a commissioner of the IEC. “Currently, work is underway to finalize the timeline.”

More and more

IEC announces date for presidential election

The Independent Election Commission (IEC) on Tuesday held a consultation meeting with the leadership of Electoral Complaint Commission (IECC), representatives of political parties, civil society and international entities in Kabul.

The consultation meeting was aimed at getting views and suggestions of the participants on setting the date of 2019 presidential election.

At the meeting, representatives of political parties and civil society activists evaluated the issue related to the next year presidential election from various aspects including operational, financial and administrative, security and climate.

More and more

Jamiat-e-Islami eyes major role in Afghan presidential elections

The Jamiat-e-Islami of Afghanistan led by Salahuddin Rabbani and Ata Mohammad Noor eyes major role in the next presidential elections of Afghanistan by expanding the leadership council of the party.

Speaking during a gathering in Kabul, Rabbani said the party will have a presence in the next presidential elections.

Rabbani further added that temporary leadership council of the party has expanded and is now having more than 60 members, which was previously having only 9 members.

Emphasizing on pluralism as key principle of the party, Rabbani said Jamiat-e-Islami is home to all Afghans and anyone can become a member of it.

More and more

Afghanistan is the dirty little secret of the US presidential campaign

Fight against Taliban is now America’s longest war but has been all but ignored by Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump

With all eyes focused on Mosul, Aleppo and Russia’s military buildup in the Middle East, the sharply deteriorating security situation in Afghanistan has been all but ignored by Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. Whoever wins the US presidency, such insouciance will be hard to justify beyond January’s inauguration day.

As this week’s killing of 30 villagers in Ghor province showed, Afghanistan has a way of forcing itself into the political headlights. Barack Obama learned this lesson the hard way. He promised to end the war. Instead, he escalated, faltered, then lost interest.

Obama’s 2009 Afghan “surge”, supported by Clinton, then the US secretary of state, sent an additional 51,000 troops to the country. But the reinforcements failed to end the Taliban insurgency. In 2014 Obama said the war was ending. But he has had to eat his words. As he leaves office, 8,400 US soldiers and a large air force contingent remain behind.

The Afghan Taliban, supported by elements in Pakistan, are still the deadliest and most numerous foe. Recent estimates suggest they are gaining territory in Helmand, where British troops once did battle. Repeated offensives around Kunduz in the north and audacious attacks on Kabul have been beaten back, but with great difficulty.

More and more

США предложили правительству Афганистана отложить президентские выборы

По сообщению новостного агентства «Хама-Пресс», администрация президента Дональда Трампа предложила правительству Афганистана отложить проведение президентских выборов. По заявлению представителей США, это необходимо т.к. Вашингтон пытается найти способ вовлечь «Талибан» в мирные переговоры.

Вопрос о том, чтобы отложить президентские выборы, запланированные на 2019 год, был поднят специальным советником США по вопросам примирения в Афганистане, послом Залмаем Халильзадом. Об этом источники, ответственные за развитие, сообщили журналу «Уолл-Стрит».

Читать далее...

Хашими: график проведения президентских выборов в Афганистане станет понятен в течение следующей недели

Как сообщает новостное агентство «Ариана-Ньюс», во вторник представители Независимой избирательной комиссии (НИК) выступили с заявлением о том, что в данный момент прорабатывается график проведения следующих президентских выборов. Он будет объявлен на следующей неделе.
Проведение президентских выборов запланировано на 20 апреля 2019 года.

«На следующей неделе мы опубликуем график проведения президентских выборов для всех», – заявил Хафизулла Хашими, член НИК. «В данный момент работы по составлению графика завершаются».

Читать далее...

НИК обнародовала дату президентских выборов в Афганистане

Как сообщает новостное агентство «Ариана-Ньюс», во вторник в НИК состоялась консультативная встреча, на которой присутствовали сотрудники Комиссии по рассмотрению жалоб избирателей, представители различных политических партий, гражданского общества и международных организаций.

Целью встречи было выслушать различные мнения и предложения по поводу даты проведения президентских выборов в 2019 году. 

На встрече представители политических партий и гражданского общества рассмотрели этот вопрос, учитывая различные факторы, включая операционные, финансовые и административные. Помимо этого, также были учтены обстановка в области безопасности и климатические условия.

Читать далее...

«Джамиат-и-Ислами» намерена сыграть главную роль на президентских выборах

Одна из влиятельных партий Афганистана «Джамиат-и-Ислами» во главе с Салахуддином Раббани и Атто Мохаммадом Нуром намерена сыграть главную роль на следующих президентских выборах в Афганистане.

Выступая на собрании сторонников партии в Кабуле, Раббани отметил, что «Джамиат-и-Ислами» выдвинет своих кандидатов в президенты.


Далее Раббани добавил, что совет руководства партии расширился и в настоящее время включает более 60 членов, против 9 членов, которые входили в руководящее звено партии ранее.

Подчеркивая плюрализм мнений как ключевой принцип партии, Раббани отметил, что «Джамиат-и-Ислами» является «домом для всех афганцев», и каждый может стать сторонником партии.


Читать далее...

Афганистан — маленький нелицеприятный секрет президентской кампании в США

Как пишет TheGuardian, сосредоточившись на военном присутствии России в Сирии, два кандидата на президентское кресло Америки Хиллари Клинтон и Дональд Трамп продолжают игнорировать факт резкого ухудшения ситуации с безопасностью в Афганистане. Кто бы не был выбран на пост президента США, такую беззаботность будет трудно оправдать в январе, после инаугурации.

Буквально на этой неделе от рук боевиков ИГИЛ в провинции Гор погибли 36 мирных жителей, один этот факт должен заставить политиков смотреть в сторону Афганистана. Барак Обама в свою очередь почти усвоил это трудный урок. Он обещал закончить войну, но Афганистан оказался ему не по зубам, и он потерял интерес.

В 2009 году Обама пережил афганский «всплеск», не без поддержки госпожи Клинтон, тогда еще госсекретаря США, и направил в страну 51 000 американских военных, но им так и не удалось справиться с талибами. В 2014 году Обама сказал, что война заканчивается, но снова промахнулся.

Афганские талибы, поддерживаемые Пакистаном, по-прежнему остаются самым смертоносным и самым многочисленным врагом Америки в Афганистане. Согласно последним оценкам, под контроль талибов перешла большая часть территории в провинции Гильменд. Повторные наступления на севере в Кундузе и дерзкие нападения в Кабуле были отбиты, но с большим трудом.

Читать далее...